Diary of a misEducated Black Man


Magic win in Boston, for real??

Now that was unexpected.  The Magic showed some friggin heart.  Well, atleast one player on there team did.  My buddy Bill Simmons wrote an article a little while ago about urgency.

“The third is faux urgency — when a team’s players don’t trust each other or their coach and don’t have the right leadership in place, but they’re desperately pressing to make a bad situation work anyway.  That’s the worst kind of urgency.  By the way, I have no idea whether Orlando has real urgency or faux urgency. I’m leaning toward the latter. Stay tuned.”

Bill wrote this over a week ago, with the Magic in the midst of a eight game playoff win streak mind you, but, Bill I stayed tune.  Although the Magic won last night on the Celtics home floor, I still don’t see the real urgency in the eyes of the players on that team.  Last night Jeff Van Gundy noted that Danny Ferry had assembled a team full of winners for the Celtics.  As you look at the Celtics player by player, you could make an outstanding argument that each player on that team wants to win more than the other one.

With the Magic its easy, Jameer Nelson.  He’s the only one with that Philly scrap in him.

Rashard Lewis, soft.  Dwight Howard, not soft, but apathetic.  J.J. Reddick, might be the second toughest guy on the team which is a shame because he’s a jumpshooting two guard.  Matt Barnes, he’s got a little scrap, but lacks the ability to make a difference.  Vince Carter, I’m so disgusted with my former idol I won’t even talk about him.  Who else?  We can go down the roster.

They’re all soft or apathetic.  They don’t have real urgency.

Now I know you’re thinking, did I even watch the game last night?  They won right?  They won because Paul Pierce missed two good looks from three end, the Celts got tired, and a desperation heave by Baby Davis was the cherry on top.  But that was a team out there that wanted to win.

Jameer Nelson absolutely willed his team to victory.  He slashed to the basket, he hit big shots down the stretch, and he energized his team.  He was the only Magic with real urgency last night.  Even when Dwight’s scoring 30 plus and bringing down 15 plus boards he just doesn’t look into it to me.  Even his post game interview lacks passion and authority.

They need to sprinkle a little Kobe fire powder on the Magic if they even want to consider winning this thing.

With that said, this series is over next game.  The Celtics are just to passionate about winning.

…check please…

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

If the Lakers were smart, they’d want Orlando to win. The Magic would get mowed down by the Lakers. Guess Boston will have to do.

Any other Knicks fans out there??? Do you want James or not? I, for one, do not. I would rather see them ink a certain Heat guard (I’m being coy to avoid the wrath of a certain NBA commish.)

Comment by Mark M.

Mark,
I agree with you, if I were a Laker fan I’d be praying for a comeback. I think the Celtics would bully the Lakers with their toughness and win in 6. I’m not a Knicks fan but I think you’re crazy to want that Heat guard over Lebron. Bron’s three years younger, fills up the stat sheet more and is a bigger draw. I love Wade (oops) but he’s no Bron. Personally, as a writer, I can’t resist the want to see Lebron in Chicago with Phil, and Bosh as his Pippen. The media frenzy that would create would be like Hershey Park actually being made of chocolate, a dream come true.

Comment by diaryofatiredblackman




Leave a Reply

