Diary of a misEducated Black Man


Swagger Wagon
May 18, 2010, 2:13 pm
Filed under: Lifestyle | Tags: , , , , , ,

This is hilarious…errr i meant racist…yea racist

BUT!!

Because its my duty to turn the nice unruly, I’m gonna say thats its an offensive, outrageous, overembellishment of Black culture’s obsession with materialism. This goes right along with McDonald’s, Burger King, Eastern Motors, the old Census commericials, and all the other rapping ads that think the only way you can get the Black community to listen is if you make it rhyme. Do you want me to dance a jig for you too massa. Ridiculous.

BUT!!

You got to give it to Toyota for this one. This one’s wild. And effective its got nearly 2 million views on youtube. And yours truly is promoting it even further. I love America.

…check please…

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Between this video, and all the recalls….they’ve TOTALLY convinced ME to get a toyota….

Comment by anita

Great Comment! Thats pretty funny. I’m a fan of this commercial actually. I had to watch it a few times, but its actually really clever. Now like u said Toyota might want to focus on fixing the accelerators in their vehicles and focus a little less on creative marketing. Or, if you think about it, maybe this is their controversial, debate stirring ploy, to get peoples eyes off of the recalls and get them talking about something else. The classic magic trick effect; you look here, while I do this.

Comment by diaryofatiredblackman

How’s it not just a parody? It’s satire for commercial purposes.

Comment by Beau

I agree. Its funny, its effective, and it’s probably harmless. In fact, after looking at it again I’m not even sure that its marketed toward urban communities, such as the stupid McDonald’s rapping commercials or all the other stupid yo boy commercials aimed at the hood. I have a problem with those commercials because they only portray a singular script of the way in which to be Black. You gotta rap, dance, and sing for your whopper. I don’t like that.

This commercial is hilarious though. In my opinion, the parodic nature of the ad leads me to believe that it is aimed at much broader audiences, meant to be harmless, and honestly its very effective. I have no problems with it.

Comment by diaryofatiredblackman




Leave a Reply

