Diary of a misEducated Black Man


A few words…
August 11, 2010, 12:30 am
Filed under: Lifestyle, Politics, Race, Sports | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Jay Z Painting by me. For sale at http://www.etsy.com/shop/theyoungandthebold

So Jump School is not nearly as exciting as it seems.  In fact much like most Army schools that sound cool, the Army has the innate ability to make them suck.  Throw in a heaping scoop of that Southern Georgia heat and humidity and this is downright torturous.  Lots of standing around and waiting.  Lots of harnesses digging into my crotch.  Lots of rearranging “downstairs”.  Gallons of sweat.  Lots of disgusting CeraSport.

This crap is taste like chalk, mixed with rice flour, mixed with, sand from Iraq.  Smells great though.  You mix a packet into your canteen and its supposed to hydrate you, if it doesn’t kill you first.

I do have some bad news to report.  I have never failed in my life as much as I have in the Army.  When it comes to PT, I’m in shape so I excel.   I’m mentally pretty sharp, so I do good in Army academic style training, but every once in a while something comes my way that I just can’t conquer.

At Airborne school, its called the Swing Landing Trainer.  This 12ft nutcrusher is hell.  Literally, the Devil came down to Georgia and perched atop this apparatus.

They are about to push that poor soul off that tower and I’m sure you can imagine what happens next. The idea seems simple, you fall off, you swing, you land gracefully.  However, when you’re 6’2 and dense as the earths core, you just kinda fall like a sack of bricks.  Not pretty.

So I failed this thing, the first time.

But, a day later I conquered my nemisis.  However, I was a day late and a dollar short, and my reward was a whole extra week of Airborne training.  YAY!! Not.  Its hot as hell down here.  Somebody pray for me.

Other than that life’s swell.  I here Tiger Woods is sucking pretty bad these days.  And… that is literally the extent of real world news that I have received the last two weeks.  So yea.  Can’t wait to get back to civilization.  Somebody send me some emails and tell me whats going on in the world.

Oh, one last random thing.  Came across this on the internet today.  Normally I’m not a fan of bootleg rap videos, but something about this song made me listen a few times.  Its just so damn catchy!


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

At least you get to go to airborne school. I would kill to get out of here.

Comment by Jimbo Slice

Ur in Hawaii dude suck it up! Whats the deal out there? Why you wanna roll so bad?

Comment by diaryofamisEducatedblackman

That’s because you sweat that much to begin with… ;)

Comment by Matthew




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

